Williams Lake Tribune Staff Finalists for Ma Murray Newspaper Awards – Williams Lake Tribune


the Williams Lake Grandstand and its staff were named among the top three finalists in four categories of the My Murray awards celebrating achievement in BC and Yukon community news media.

The newspaper earned a nomination in the Overall Excellence category for the second consecutive year. In this category, newspapers are scored by judges who examine the strength of editorial content, including photography and writing, display advertising, and the overall layout, design, and printing of the newspaper.

“I am extremely thrilled that our hard work in the community continues to be recognized by our peers,” said Grandstand editor Kathy McLean. “My staff are some of the most dedicated employees I could ask for. I just couldn’t be more proud of them. I want to extend my heartfelt thanks to our wonderful customers for their continued support of what we do and our many loyal readers.

Moreover, the Williams Lake Grandstand is a finalist for a special section prize, under 10,000 draws, for Casual Country 2021. Casual Country is a longstanding tradition in the community produced by the Grandstand for 53 years, featuring local stories about people and places on the Cariboo Chilcotin Coast.

McLean and ad designer Gaylene Desautels are also finalists in the ad design category, print run under 10,000, for an ad for Lake City Collision and Auto Glass.

Williams Lake Grandstand Regional Editor Angie Mindus was also named a finalist for the Portrait/Personality Photography Award, print run under 10,000, for her photo titled Art brings history to life of lifelong resident Libby Abbott in front of a mural of her as a child on the outside wall of the Station House Gallery, where she grew up.

the Quesnel Cariboo Observerof which Mindus is regional publisher, is also a finalist in the general excellence category. Observer Editor Cassidy Dankochik is also a finalist in the Breaking News Video Award category for coverage of the West Fraser lumber yard fire.

Mindus wanted to express his thanks and gratitude to his team, as well as the community for their continued support of local journalism.

The Ma Murray Awards are given out each year to celebrate the work of hundreds of journalists from the 93 community newspapers that make up the BC and Yukon Community NewsMedia Association.

Winners are expected to be announced at an in-person gala in the Lower Mainland on Saturday, May 14, 2022.

Do you have a comment on this story? E-mail:
Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

With files from the BC and Yukon Community Newspaper Association

AwardsWilliams Lake


Comments are closed.