On the front page of Saturday July 4, 2021



Topeka FritoLay workers reject contract

TOPEKA, Kansas (KPR) – Workers at the Topeka FritoLay plant have voted against a proposed contract, paving the way for a strike that begins tomorrow (MON). The Topeka Capital-Journal reports that union leaders and FritoLay executives reached a tentative deal this week, but members rejected the proposed contract after two days of voting on Friday and yesterday (SAT). KSNT-TV reports that around 400 members of Local 218 voted in the two days, with an overwhelming majority of them voting for the strike. More than 500 FritoLay workers are expected.


Olathe proud boy to stay in custody

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (KPR) – A man from Olathe will remain in jail awaiting trial for his role in the Jan.6 uprising on the U.S. Capitol. The Kansas City Star reports that a federal judge on Friday rejected an application for the release of William “Billy” Chrestman. Chrestman is accused of being one of five Kansas City-area Proud Boys who conspired to storm the Capitol. The five appeared in U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia last week by video and phone. Chrestman has been detained since his arrest on February 11.


Kansans warned of blue-green algae in lakes

TOPEKA, Kansas (KPR) – This July 4th weekend, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment and the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism are urging visitors to Kansas Lakes to do watch out for blue-green algae. The departments issued a press release warning people that harmful algal blooms can grow quickly and are unpredictable. Active warnings are currently in effect for Fishing State Lake in Atchison County, Lake Milford in Geary County, and Big Eleven Lake in Wyandotte County. A full list of lakes subject to a blue-green algae advisory is available on the KDHE website: https://www.kdheks.gov/algae-illness/.


Johnson County Dominates Redistribution Committees

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) – Johnson County has the most seats on legislative committees that will draft redistribution proposals next year. Three of the nine members of the Senate redistribution committee are from Johnson County; the same is true for four of the 17 members of the House committee. Johnson County is not only the most populous county in the state, but also a county that is likely to gain political clout due to population displacement. Lawmakers redesign congressional, legislative, and state board of education districts once every ten years. The Chairman of the Senate Committee is Vice-Chairman Rick Wilburn and its Deputy Chairman is Chairman Ty Masterson. Minority leader Dinah Sykes is also a member.



Comments are closed.