NRL Boyle and Tonegato headline NSW Women’s Origin team


Some 15 members of the NRLW Grand Final squads will feature in the NSW Home State Women’s Team.

Seven Sydney Roosters and eight St George Illawarra Dragons have been named in the 22-man squad, which is led by co-medalists Dally M Millie Boyle and Emma Tonegato.

The team’s bolter is Sam Bremner, who hasn’t played NRLW this season giving birth to her second child, but has since impressed for Cronulla in the NSW Women’s Premiership.

Coach Kylie Hilder said Bremner, 30, had shown she was ready for the June 24 clash in Canberra.

“We put her in the City-Country game a few weeks ago and she was outstanding,” she told reporters.

“It’s not just what she brings to the pitch, it’s what she takes out of it.

“She really brings the team together and as you can imagine in Origin, you have a limited amount of time to get a group of players together to go play a game.”

Dally M’s joint winners will be crucial for the Blues to regain the Home State Shield – NSW lost 8-6 to Queensland last season.

Hilder said there was no doubt Olympic gold medalist Tonegato would be named to the team.

“They won those awards for reasons… Emma has had an outstanding year coming back to rugby league and she’s an x-factor player at the back there,” she said.

“Millie just did what Millie does every year to be honest, she’s been really good since leaving Rugby Union.

“I am delighted that these two players are part of this evolution.”

The team will meet for their first training session on Tuesday.

NSW TEAM: Kezie Apps (capt – St George Illawarra), Corban Baxter (Sydney), Shaylee Bent (St George Illawarra), Teagan Berry (St George Illawarra), Millie Boyle (Brisbane), Sam Bremner (Cronulla), Keeley Davis (St George Illawarra), Kirra Dibb (Newcastle), Quincy Dodd (St George Illawarra), Filomina Hanisi (Parramatta), Talei Holmes (St George Illawarra), Caitlan Johnston (Newcastle), Isabelle Kelly (Sydney), Olivia Kernick (Sydney), Yasmin Meakes (Sydney), Rachael Pearson (St George Illawarra), Tiana Penitani (Parramatta), Jessica Sergis (Sydney), Hannah Southwell (Sydney), Simaima Taufa (Parramatta), Sarah Togatuki (Sydney), Emma Tonegato (St George Illawarra) .


Comments are closed.