Ishiekwene, Olorunyomi, Fashola, Monguno, Irabor, Kyari Headline Editors’ Conference on Security



By Tunde Oguntola, Abuja

Everything is set for the 17th Across Nigeria Editors’ Conference, which kicks off Thursday, October 21, 2021, with LEADERSHIP Editor-in-Chief Azu Ishiekwene; Premium Times editor Mr. Dapo Olorunyomi; Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola; the group’s managing director, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Mallam Mele Kyari; The Chief of the Defense Staff, General Lucky Irabor, and other security chiefs were to lead the discussions at the conference.

A statement made available to LEADERSHIP yesterday in Abuja signed by President Mustapha Isah and Nigerian Editors Guild (NGE) Secretary General Iyobosa Uwugiaren said some state governors facing security concerns, including Dr Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta); Malam Nasiru El-Rufai (Kaduna); Alhaji Yaya Bello (Kogi); Seyi Mankide (Oyo); Alhaji Bello Matawalle (Zamfara); Professor Babagana Umara Zulum (Borno) and Chef David Nweze Umahi (Ebonyi) are also expected to join the conversation.

Other state governors expected at the event are Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu, SAN (Ondo), Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun) and others.

The statement said the conference on the theme, “ Media in Times of Crisis: Resolving Conflicts, Reaching Consensus, ” will bring together editors and media owners from across the country, along with their foreign colleagues. to discuss security challenges in the country. and agree on the solution to the raging conflict.

The conference, according to the statement, is sponsored by legal entities including the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), United Bank for Africa (UBA), Glo, Zenith Bank, Access Bank, Air Peace and Trustfund Pensions Limited, adding that it will take place at the Nigerian Air Force Conference Center, in the Kado region of Abuja.

“The other promoters are the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Company (NDIC), the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and the Yobe State government,” the statement said.

He said that Olorunyomi, an internationally renowned investigative journalist and accomplished journalism professor, would deliver the opening speech which would be discussed by security chiefs, including Monguno, Irabor, the director general of the Department of Human Services. State (DSS), Mr. Yusuf Bichi and the Inspector General of Police (IGP), Mr. Usman Baba.

The statement said Kyari would be the special guest of honor while the president of the Association of Newspaper Owners of Nigeria (NPAN), Malam Kabiru Yusuf, would be the guest of honor.

Media Dean Mr. Ray Ekpu would chair the opening session with Fashola and others including Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) President Chris Isiguzo and foreign ambassadors delivering messages of good will.

“Besides the opening session, the conference would have three more; the second session of the first day of the conference includes an article titled: ” Conflict Reporting: The Editor as a Mediator ”, which will be presented by Ishiekwene.

The document would be discussed by 21st Century Chronicle editor, Dr Mahmud Jega; the Managing Director of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), Mr. Mansur Liman and another prominent journalist, Mr. Emmanuel Yawe. Renowned broadcaster Ms. Kadaria Ahmed would chair the session, ” the statement added.

The statement said that the morning session on Day 2, Friday, October 22, will see the Managing Director of the Nigerian Incentive-Based Risk Sharing System for Agriculture Lending (NIRSAL), Mr. Aliyu Abdulhameed, present a document: “ Accessing Capital for Development alternative career path for copywriters. ”

The speakers at the session which will be chaired by the Managing Director / CEO of Access Bank Plc, Mr. Herbert Wigwe, are the former President of NGE, Ms. Funke Egbemode; Managing Director of New Telegraph Newspapers, Mr. Ayodele Aminu and Executive Director (News), FRCN, Mr. Sani Sulieman.

The organizers said that the afternoon session on the theme: “Security challenges: recovering the lost land”, would be assisted by state governors and chaired by the Minister of Defense, the Major General. Bashir Magashi.

The conference will end in the evening with the induction of new Fellows and Guild members.

Over 300 publishers and media owners – from print media, broadcast stations and online newspapers have registered for the conference.



Comments are closed.